Seiko 7A38 - by the numbers

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > Bend it, Mend it - Mods & Wreckers > IT LIVES AGAIN! - or it is possible to reassemble a train bridge.

JKN

First let me say I am very new to watch fixing. My dad had a 7A28 that blew  up a battery a decade or more ago rendering it dead which I figured I would tear down for practice knowing it was beyond hope so I couldn't hurt it. When I got it torn down it was in pretty good condition just gunked up. Not much corrosion on anything critical so I figured I would look for help and found this forum. Unfortunately that was after I took apart the train bridge. Let me say that while it is not easy you can get it back together. Be patient and don't force anything. Cleaned it all and got the bare movement together and believe it or not she runs. Second hand is going continuously and all 4 shafts do a full rotation during the trial run. Any thing else I should check to make sure it all works before investing in a new stem (dad doesn't remember how it got broke but is was after it died) a crystal and seals?

Thanks to everyone for all the great info posted here. I would likely have never gotten this far without your help and at least at this point it is looking like my dad might get his watch back.

March 24, 2014 at 9:10 PM Flag Quote & Reply

donwatch

Magnificent first post----back from the dead is a grand feeling. ;)

March 24, 2014 at 10:05 PM Flag Quote & Reply

garacs1

Hi JKN, nice to hear you managed to get the main bridge back on place, an operation not many achieve without loosing their patience one time too many :P

Pics of the 7A28?

--

My personal Blog: www.onlyvintagewatches.com/blog

March 26, 2014 at 11:49 AM Flag Quote & Reply

JKN