Seiko 7A38 - by the numbers

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > Bend it, Mend it - Mods & Wreckers > Louis' 7A38-7069 Repair..

Louis Juarez

Hi All , My name is Louis Juarez and I live in Hawaii . This is my first attempt to post pics and ask for the help that I posted earlier....I'm slowly getting there  :)......Here we go>>>>

To  recap ,  I just got this 7A38-7069 that was advertised as in need of repair .  I installed a new 394 battery and the only thing it does is reset the large chrono second hand when I pull the crown 1 click and push button C for two secs. I am using You Tube "7A48-7000 tear down" as a guide .

So far the only thing I can see is discolorization on the bottom of the antimagnetic plate and the top of the circuit block .....every thing looks clean as a whistle . The green insulator plate is looking clean and no sign of rust or any corrosion anywhere . I am cleaning up the plate and block and think I will reassemble everything and see what happens . I have not touched the 4 little coils or removed any other components after the green insulator .

If I do need to locate parts I would trully appreciate it  if someone could steer me in the right direction...as a matter of fact I would like to know where I could purchase parts for this or my other Seikos anyway .  I also have another 7A38-7069 that works great .

I hope that this post comes out OK with the Pics .....Mahalo and Aloha for any and all help and support , Louis Juarez

June 9, 2014 at 12:04 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Seiko7A38
Site Owner

So far the only thing I can see is discolorization on the bottom of the antimagnetic plate and the top of the circuit block ....

Louis. It may not look too bad to your eyes (though it's not particulary clear from your penultimate photo of the track side of the PCB),