Seiko 7A38 - by the numbers

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > Parts Info, Tech Tips and Tinkering > Strange request for 7a28 'Alien' pushers

Ross McS

I've just bought a 7a28-7009 in shocking condition, but I'm hopeful that I can get it restored & replated without too much difficulty.

The watch I bought doesn't have either of the two plastic pushers, but from what I can see from photos, the design is reasonably simple. I was planning on having the pushers turned from SS rod at a local CNC company, and can get the plastics made in ABS in any colour (red, yellow, black) - I was wondering if replacement pushers would be sought after if I made a few extras?

I was also wondering if anybody had a spare pusher, regardless of condition, that I could either borrow for a day or two (I'll cover all postage costs etc.), or that they could fully measure? I'm an Industrial designer by trade, so making new parts to the correct dimensions & finish shouldn't be too challenging!

August 1, 2014 at 1:50 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Ross McS

I figured this was a bit of a long shot! I'm working on an initial design - I think I can probably figure out all of the dimensions, but any pointers on the pusher rod length or diameter would be appreciated! I think I've got the correct dimensions for the plastic part, I just need to model up the pusher housing to make sure the offset is correct:

One last question... does anybody know what the correct plating is for a 7a28-7009? I've read in numerous places that it's ion beam / PVD - although the appearance and durability looks more like black chrome / passivated zinc plating. I'm lucky enough to have a plating shop at work that can do just about any finish, but I'd like to stick to the original intended finish!

August 4, 2014 at 5:42 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Seiko7A38
Site Owner

Ross. It is indeed Black Chrome, (underneath) - as signified by the Seiko abbreviation BCRP.