Seiko 7A38 - by the numbers

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > 7Axx General Discussion Area > My birthdate 7A38-7295

Frdwrd

My 7A38-7295 (my first 7AXX) has arrived in California.

It'll be getting a new strap (probably black leather, unless I can locate something more authentic) and a check-up there before joining me in Japan. This particular watch is special, because it was made in the same year and month I was born, and the rest of the serial number is the exact date of my birth.

I'm making a laundry list of things to look at fixing. The chrono sweep second is off another model, the original bracelet is gone, the crystal is mildly scratched, the black coating is damaged in places, and who knows what the inside looks like. I'm still new at this, so please point out anything that looks wrong. I do have confirmation that the chrono self-test runs smoothly, so that's something.

For now I only have extremely poor quality photos. I'll make a stab at properly posting them here:

Updates with better pictures and more questions will follow when it reaches me, probably in a couple weeks.

September 26, 2014 at 10:03 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Frdwrd

This finally made across the Pacific to me. It's pretty much what I expected. 2 o'clock pusher gets stuck in, 4 o'clock is unreliable, and 10 o'clock seems to not work at all. Cosmetic condition is fair. I'll be taking it into the city to find a reputable repair shop soon.

Here's a couple more pictures:

And the full album in very-high resolution. 

October 11, 2014 at 6:39 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Seiko7A38
Site Owner

That doesn't look so bad, James - even on the non-original rubber strap. A replacement crystal should improve it no end. ;)

I see you've got the day set on SAB (Portuguese) rather than SAT (English). Does this mean you get SEX on Fridays ? :lol:

October 11, 2014 at 6:49 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Frdwrd

The rubber strap looks and feels pretty cheap. Replacing it is high on my priority list.