Seiko 7A38 - by the numbers

Forums

Forum Home > Bend it, Mend it - Mods & Wreckers > We're going in ........ deep inside the 7Axx

Sir Alan

I did a physics degree many, many years ago - which I think makes me the type of person who asks a lot of how and why questions :D

I also like taking things apart ;)

As I have been learning more and more about the insides of the 7Axx , I wanted to find out how the movement actually works.

Right at the beginning of this adventure, I took a broken 7A38 movement apart, but I didn't really pay much attention to what I was doing, and I certainly knew that I wasn't going to be putting it back together!!

I also didn't take any photos, so, whilst at the time it might have looked like it made sense, only a few hours later I was left with a collection of tiny parts :roll:

Recently I acquired two watches, both listed as not working. Taking each apart, it was evident that one had suffered major water ingress (and resultant rust) and the other lesser such damage.

It was my intention to dissasemble the badly rusted movement, taking pictures along the way. Tonight when I went to fix the other movement (something I thought would be quick and easy) I found that whilst the extent of the rust was much reduced, it had attacked the tiny post that one of the pusher clips sits on (the 4pm pusher), so much so that trying to remove the rusted pusher clip I also removed the post :mad:

Doh - so now I have two movements, both with the base plate badly damaged, but with all other parts (including the precious circuit) intact.

So, what's really inside the 7A38 movement?

I'm going to take pictures in natural light as I dissasemble each of the bridges. Tonite I had a 'practice' run on one of the movements, removing the smaller bridges completely (they will be easy to put back together) and getting this far with the main bridge: