Seiko 7A38 - by the numbers

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > Parts Info, Tech Tips and Tinkering > 7A38-7020 with unknown chronograph fault

My7A

Thanks to Paul for opening this thread for me.

So here's the story: I'm a total newbie, only got this 7A38-7020 a couple of weeks ago from our local auction website (ricardo.ch):

https://www.ricardo.ch/de/a/seiko-chronograph-herren-armbanduhr-1079809004/

The description said "watch works" and it's basically true, the watch does work, only the Chronograph feature doesn't, which is ok considering that it wasn't very expensive.

Still, now that I've got the watch, I have started to wonder if there might be a way to get the chronograph feature working as well. Perhaps by a movement swap? And so I wanted to start a thread in the tinkering subforum in order to ask if all 7A38 movements are the same and therefore interchangeable.

I suppose the font used on the day and date wheels aren't all equal. Is it possible to swap a movement and retain the day and date wheels of the old movement?

Thanks for any insights anyone may have.

September 15, 2019 at 11:07 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Seiko7A38
Site Owner

Markus.

To answer your last couple of questions:

1) Yes all '7A38' movements (however branded) are basically interchangeable, be they pukka Seiko 7A38A, Shimauchi Ltd. V906, Orient J3920, JEPIC Corp. Y19A, Cartier Ferrari Cal. 531, whatever. The only real difference between them is is how their anti-magnetic backplates (and battery +ve terminals) are signed and also the background colour and second languages on their day / date wheels.

2) Yes, it is possible to swap the day / date wheels between movements, but it's a bit fiddly and will also require you to pull and replace all the hands and remove the dial - something best not attempted by a novice tinkerer.

However, as you've stated, you're a 'total newbie', so let's start with the basics. ;)