Seiko 7A38 - by the numbers

Subtitle

Forums

Forum Home > Bend it, Mend it - Mods & Wreckers > Inside the 7A38

Sir Alan

I thought I would start a thread on what's inside the 7A38, and how (and why) it works the way it does. I am no expert, but I thought I would post my thoughts and findings along with some pictures.

My first addition is how the crown/stem release mechanism works. This is pretty fundamental as without this knowledge, getting the movement out of the case to work on it will prove impossible without damage (and I should know!!).

Here is the back of the movement (fully assembled):

The crown can be pulled out (and pushed back in) to any one of three positions:

Position 1 - crown fully pushed in

The things to note in the picture above are that the crown stem is held in place by a small 'finger' - this is all that stops the crown from being completely pulled out of the movement.

Position 2 - crown pulled out to the first click (position)

Here you can quick set the day / date,  and by pushing one of the three buttons, reset the chrono, and 3pm, 9pm sub-dial hands

See how as the crown moves out, the 'finger' holding it in pivots and the plate it is part of moves from right to left (see the small dimple in this plate.

Position 3 - crown pulled out to the second click

Here you can turn the hour/minute hands to set the correct time (and day/date) and remove the crown/stem

See how the clutch assembly that the stem passes through has separated, and the gear at the end (furthest left) of the stem is now engaging with the gears that drive the main hour/minute hands.

See also how the 'finger' plate has moved even further to the left. What isn't obvious is that this plate (and the dimple) have become visible through the back plate of the movement (in the hole marked PUSH).